ECP suspends membership of 154 parliamentarians over non-disclosure of assets

ECP suspends membership of 154 parliamentarians over non-disclosure of assets

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday suspended the membership of 154 members of the Senate, National Assembly and the Provincial Assemblies after their failure in submission of assets and liabilities to the commission.

According to the ECP, three members of the Upper House, 48 members of the National Assembly, 52 members of the Punjab provincial assembly, 19 members of the Sindh Assembly, 26 members of the KPK Assembly and six members of the Baluchistan Assembly did not submit the details of their assets in the commission till the last date of January 15.

It is important to mention here that several ministers including Minister for Inter-provincial Coordination Fehmida Mirza, Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Haider Zaidi and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui are among the MNAs whose memberships have been suspended.

According to Section 137(1) of the Elections Act, 2017, lawmakers are required to submit a statement of their assets and liabilities, as well as those of their spouses and dependent children, by December 31 each year.

An ECP official told Islamabad Observer that the commission had sent lists of the members to the respective speakers of the houses, asking them to stop the listed members from working as they had failed to meet another deadline of January 15 regarding the submission of their assets details to the commission.

The official said that the membership of the lawmakers will remain suspended until they submit their respective statements.

“How can we expect from the common citizens that they will file their tax returns on time when they came to know that their own representatives are using delaying tactics regarding the submission of their assets details,” the official questioned.